The Palmerston Game Fishing Club was founded in 1991 by ten like minded fishermen. Over the years the club has grown into the high profile well respected club it is today. Initially starting out with club meetings in member’s back yards, then moving on to the Palmerston Tavern for a short time and then the Gray Community Hall.

Around the mid 90s the club with the assistance of the NT Govt was granted a plot of Land in Palmerston and moves were made to construct a club house. A roof was erected along with a storage shed however progress then stalled with a lack of funds.

For many years the clubs marquee event was the Corroboree Park Challenge which helped attract many members to the club.  It continues today as one of the only competitions open to all members of the public.

With the club development at a bit of a standstill. It was recognised PGFC would need more funds to achieve its ultimate goal of having its own licenced clubrooms.  In around 1995 with a view to helping achieve the financial goals, several members spawned the idea of implementing a national fishing tournament.

Subsequently in 1996 after a great deal of effort from club members the first Barra Nationals was held on the Daly River where it is still held today. The event was an immediate success and following the running of a second successful Barra Nationals in 1997 the club was in a comfortable financial position. The incoming President of the time, Trevor Edwards, put a motion to the AGM to finish construction of the clubrooms. With the motion being carried a bank loan was obtained and construction of our current premises commenced. The premises were completed and officially opened in mid 1999.  With the opening of the clubrooms, membership of the club quickly grew.

The club has maintained an emphasis on family and juniors with many of its local laws, social events and fishing trips being organised to facilitate the engagement and involvement of families and juniors.

The club has seen many milestones over the years, from obtaining our land, starting the Barra Nationals in 1996 and the opening of our clubrooms in 1999.  2009 saw the club take over the running of the Secret Women’s Business competition, a well supported women only event. Another annual event for which the club has become renowned for is the Junior Anglers Clinic where 100 junior anglers are educated in all aspects of fishing from water safety, knots, casting, lure selection and catching a fish.

None of this can happen without the support and participation of the diehard club members. Further on you will find a list of life members and club presidents these people along with many other unsung members of the club have dedicated untold hrs to enable the club to reach the current position it holds today, that of a highly respected, active, progressive member of the fishing community.


Year Name
1991-1994 Terry Davis
1995-1997 Bryan Spoorle
1998-2002 Trevor Edwards
2003 Russell Fry
2004 Russell Fry
2005 Steve Shenfield
2006 Steve Shenfield
2007 Craig Wortlehock
2008 Lynne Fry
2009 Lynne Fry
2010 Julie Davies
2011 Trevor Edwards
2012 Trevor Edwards
2013 Paul Williams
2014 Paul Williams
2015 Adrian Glazbrook
2016 Adrian Glazbrook
2017 Paul Williams
2018 Paul Williams

Life Members

Year Name
2002 David Bowler
2004 Mike Newman
2006 Trevor Edwards
2008 Paul Williams
2008 Russell Fry
2013 Ray Colley
2013 Tash Colley
2015 Andre Camesi
2015 Marita Camesi
2016 Casey Van Engelenhoven
2018 Chris Archbold
2018 Dave Archbold
2018 Dennis Smart
2018 Heather Malone
2018 Denis Malone

Club Masters

Year Name
2005 Phillip Clark
2005 Shane Flanigan
2005 Darren Crawley
2006 Dennis Smart
2006 Steve Shenfield
2009 Ray Colley
2011 Trish Wright

Club Champions

Year Name
1991-1992 Ron Nurton
1993 Dave Bowler
1994 Bryan Spoorle
1995 Darryl Briscoe
1996 Ivan Biorci
1997-1998 Geoff Cook
1999 Grant Edwards
2000 Geoff Cook
2001 Phillip Clark
2002 Dennis Smart
2003 Lynne Fry
2004 Shane Flanigan
2005 Ray Colley
2006 Barry Wilson
2007 Greg Miller
2008 Lynne Fry
2009 Ray Colley
2010 Matthew Lumb
2011 Dennis Smart
2012 Tennille Lockwood
2013 Jordan Smart
2014 Dennis Smart
2015 Kevin Anderson
2016 Steve Jones
2017 Aaron Walker
2018 Jordan Smart

Club Metre Board

Year Name Species Length
2004 Shane Flanigan Barra 106cm
2004 Melissa Pain Barra 102cm
2004 Ashley Ham Barra 103cm
2004 Phillip Clark Barra 100cm
2004 Laing Clark Jew 117cm
2004 Ray Colley Jew 130cm
2004 Sally Edwards Jew 104cm
2004 Chris Stafford Barra 102cm
2004 Craig Dixon Jew 110cm
2004 Steve Shenfield Mack 116cm
2004 John Roberts Barra 111cm
2004 Julie McCourt Jew 104cm
2004 John McCourt Jew 106cm
2004 Lynne Fry Mack 123cm
2004 Trevor Edwards Jew 115cm
2004 Laing Clark Mack 106cm
2004 Dwayne Krollig Jew 112cm
2004 Joe Byers Jew 101cm
2004 Suzie Williams Jew 109cm
2004 Dennis Smart Jew 109cm
2004 Kylie Henderson Jew 106cm
2004 Ray Colley Mack 112cm
2004 Shane Flanigan Jew 111cm
2004 Darren Crawley Mack 115cm
2004 Steven Taylor Mack 140cm
2004 Troy Gillam Jew 131cm
2005 Darren Crawley Barra 103cm
2005 Phillip Clark Mack 105cm
2005 Phillip Clark Jew 120cm
2005 Suzanne Van Engelehoven Jew 111cm
2005 Shane Flanigan Mack 102cm
2005 Dennis Smart Mack 125cm
2005 Cate Dummet Jew 108cm
2005 Darren Crawley Jew 117cm
2005 Melissa Lund Mack 110cm
2005 Ben Dummet Jew 117cm
2005 Brian Lund Mack 102cm
2005 Brian Lund Jew 109cm
2005 Phil Lawlor Mack 120cm
2005 Natasha Cercarelli Jew 120cm
2005 Lynne Fry Jew 102cm
2005 Dave Archbold Mack 108cm
2005 Sharon Wilson Jew 107cm
2006 Barry Wilson Barra 120cm
2006 Dennis Smart Barra 103cm
2006 Greg Miler Barra 128cm
2006 Alek Gangur Barra 130cm
2006 Steve Shenfield Barra 104cm
2006 Steve Shenfield Jew 106cm
2007 Leigh Wright Jew 125cm
2007 Madison Wright Jew 104cm
2007 Trish Wright Jew 110cm
2007 Josie Wright Jew 120cm
2007 Craig Dixon Barra 100cm
2007 Alison Dixon Jew 120cm
2007 Russ Fry Jew 102cm
2007 Pam Housley Jew 107cm
2007 Steve Tetley Jew 105cm
2007 Colleen Ellis Jew 110cm
2007 Ben Wilson Mack 125cm
2007 Greg Miller Jew 116cm
2007 Chris Archbald Mack 126cm
2007 Gay Lavery Mack 121cm
2007 Jean Wilson Jew 103cm
2007 Wayne Ellis Jew 108cm
2007 Jason Ellis Jew 102cm
2008 Don Friend Mack 107cm
2008 Lynne Bailey Jew 118cm
2008 Tony Bailey Jew 118cm
2009 Ray Colley Barra 109cm
2009 Jordan Smart Jew 105cm
2009 Leigh Wright Mack 130cm
2009 Trish Wright Mack 122cm
2009 Dave Whitelaw Jew 117cm
2009 Alison Smart Jew 107cm
2009 Dave Whitelaw Mack 119cm
2010 Rohan Walker Jew 125cm
2011 Paul Williams Barra 106cm
2011 Doug Martland Jew 103cm
2011 Rohan Walker Barra 100cm
2011 Trish Wright Barra 102cm
2011 Lenna Lehmann Jew 120cm
2012 Andre Camesi Jew 103cm
2012 Russ Fry Barra 114cm
2012 Amanda Jenko Jew 115cm
2012 Bruce McDonald Jew 106cm
2012 Jason Jenko Jew 104cm
2014 Erica Glazbrook Jew 110cm
2014 Karen Glazbrook Jew 101cm
2014 Nicholas Glazbrook Jew 101cm
2014 Samara Glazbrook Jew 105cm
2016 Chubbs Hollis Jew 125cm
2016 Lynne Fry Barra 104cm
2016 Jason Preo Jew 117cm
2018 Angie Walker Jew 117cm
2018 Kayla Walker Jew 117cm